top of page
  • Writer's pictureGus Fernandez

DeSantis Signs Law prohibiting Chinese, Russian, Syrian, Cuban & Venezuelan nationals buying in FL

Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis signed legislation Monday that prevents certain foreign nationals from China and six other countries from purchasing what the state deems sensitive American land.

In addition to China, the law will also prohibit citizens of Russia, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and Syria from buying farmland or any property within 10 miles of a military installation, a seaport or an airport.

  • People from China who aren't U.S. citizens or lawful permanent residents will be barred from owning Florida property altogether.

  • Anyone knowingly selling land in violation of the new regulations is liable to civil and criminal penalties. The legislation also creates a mechanism for the property to be forfeited to the state.

8 views0 comments


bottom of page